A-State’s Murray makes Doak Walker Award Watch List

A-State in Tucson_1545946534082.JPG.jpg

JONESBORO, Ark. (News release) – Arkansas State sophomore Marcel Murray was named Wednesday to the 2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List, an award issued annually to the nation’s top running back.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.

Murray, one of 71 players to find a place on this year’s version of the prestigious watch list, becomes the sixth all-time A-State running back to earn the recognition as he joins Warren Wand (2016-18), Michael Gordon (2014-15), David Oku (2013), Reggie Arnold (2007-09) and Jonathan Adams (2000-01).

The Red Wolves have now had a player listed as a Doak Walker Award candidate seven consecutive seasons dating back to 2013.

The Hiram, Ga., native was named the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year and earned third team all-conference honors last season after recording 860 rushing yards and eight touchdowns, while also adding 141 receiving yards and a pair of scores on 16 receptions. He posted the most rushing yards by a true freshman at A-State since Marquis Williams ran for 1,060 in 1993.

The list of this year’s preseason candidates for the Doak Walker Award was announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors, which will name ten semifinalists in November and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, on Nov. 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning Dec. 2 to determine the recipient.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss