FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Following practice on Thursday, Arkansas football head coach Bret Bielema announced the four players who will serve as team captains during the 2016 campaign. The captains were voted on by their teammates.
Senior running back Kody Walker and senior offensive lineman Dan Skipper make up the two captains on the offensive side of the ball, while senior linebacker Brooks Ellis and senior defensive end Deatrich Wise make up the captains on the defense.
It marks the second straight year Ellis will serve as a team captain, following in the footsteps of fellow Fayetteville product and current Jacksonville Jaguars quarterback Brandon Allen, as the only players named two-time captains under Bielema at Arkansas.
All four players are coming off career seasons a year ago and each have been named to postseason award watch lists earlier this summer. All four were named to the Reese’s Senior Bowl Watch List earlier in the week.
Arkansas begins its 2016 season against Louisiana Tech at 3 p.m. on Sept. 3 at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium. The game will be televised on the SEC Network.
Arkansas Team Captains Under Head Coach Bret Bielema

Brooks Ellis, LB
Dan Skipper, OL
Kody Walker, RB
Deatrich Wise, DL
Brandon Allen, QB
Brooks Ellis, LB
Jonathan Williams, RB
JaMichael Winston, DL
Brandon Allen, QB
Brey Cook, OL
Trey Flowers, DL
Alan Turner, DB
Kiero Small, FB
Chris Smith, DL
Travis Swanson, OL
Robert Thomas, DL