President Trump signs emergency declaration for Arkansas


President Donald Trump signed an emergency declaration for Arkansas in light of the historic Arkansas River flooding that has submerged much of the River Valley.

“FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Arkansas to supplement state and local response efforts to the emergency conditions in the area affected by severe storms and flooding beginning on May 21, 2019, and continuing,” a FEMA news release states.

Trump authorized FEMA to coordinate disaster relief efforts to alleviate hardship and suffering caused by floodwaters, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures.

“Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency,” the news release states. “Emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program, at 75 percent federal funding in Arkansas, Chicot, Conway, Crawford, Desha, Faulkner, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Lincoln, Logan, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Sebastian and Yell counties.”

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss