UA System president announces appointees to UA System Task Force on Racial Equity

Local News

LITTLE ROCK, AR (News Release) – University of Arkansas System President Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt today announced appointments for a new systemwide task force that will consider issues around racial equity at the campuses, divisions and units within the UA System.

The UA System Task Force on Racial Equity is the result of a proposal made by John Goodson, chair of the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas, at a special meeting of the board on June 17, when he announced plans to appoint a task force to address racial injustice and promote equitable practices within the System. 

“The past several weeks in our country have brought to light the vital need for all institutions to increase efforts to combat racial injustice,” Goodson told Trustees and those attending the virtual special meeting. “Many people of color have spoken out, including many constituents of the UA System, about issues they face in their daily lives that we should all be concerned about.”

Goodson identified UA Trustee Stephen Broughton, M.D., to chair the task force, and fellow Trustee Ted Dickey to represent the Board, while setting expectations for the task force to make recommendations regarding policies, procedures and activities to help ensure the UA System and its campuses, divisions and units across the state promote an atmosphere that is “welcoming and attuned to the cultural and educational needs of all Arkansans,” he said.

“I see this as an opportunity to consider necessary changes across the UA System, highlighted by the chance to give everyone a voice and a seat at the table to discuss areas of concern and successes at individual campuses,” Broughton said. “It will be vitally important that we not only have a good ear and listen to what’s going on around us, but to also propose new ideas and policies and follow them up with appropriate actions to ensure progress is being made.”

Bobbitt said the task force is a welcomed addition to many efforts already underway at the system’s campuses, divisions and units to address issues of racial equity.

“There is an expectation from my office and the Board of Trustees that faculty, students, staff and visitors to our campuses should all be treated with respect and presented with an equitable environment to pursue their educational and scholarly goals,” Bobbitt said. “This is a well-respected and accomplished group, and I look forward to the UA System benefitting from its work immediately and well in to the future.”
The UA System Task Force on Racial Equity includes:                                                    

Committee MemberUA System Affiliation
Dr. Stephen Broughton UA System Trustee, Committee Chair 
Mr. Ted Dickey UA System Trustee 
Dr. Robert Carr   Provost, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff 
Dr. Mark Cochran   Vice President, UA System Division of Agriculture
Dr. Deacue Fields  Dean, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville 
Mr. Marvin Caston  Senior Director of Development, Razorback Foundation, Inc. 
Dr. Moses Goldman Vice Chancellor, University of Arkansas at Monticello 
Dr. Georgia Hale Provost, University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
Dr. Keith Pinchback Chancellor, Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas 
Dr. Terisa Riley Chancellor, University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
Dr. Charles Robinson Provost, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville 
Dr. Chris Smith  Dean, University of Arkansas Community College at Hope-Texarkana 
Ms. Kristi Smith Director, UA Little Rock Alumni Association
Ms. Christina Clark Vice Chancellor/COO, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Trending Stories