29 UAMS nurses make 2019 Great 100 list

Local News
UAMS Logo_-421067122154254386

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (News release) – Twenty-nine nurses from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) were named to the Great 100 Nurses Foundation’s annual list of the state’s superb nurses.

The list honors nurses from numerous backgrounds and specialties for their concern for humanity, their contributions to the profession and their mentorship of others. UAMS nurses on the list come from research, administration and clinical practice.

The Great 100 Nurses Foundation was founded by P.K. Scheerle more than 30 years ago in Louisiana. It advocates for nursing through scholarships and research. The foundation has honored nurses in Louisiana, North Carolina, Texas and Oklahoma. This is the third year it has honored Arkansas nurses.

“We certainly know that our nurses are great, so it is rewarding to see such a prestigious organization agree,” said Trenda Ray, Ph.D., APRN, UAMS Medical Center interim chief nursing officer. “Our patients and their families expect and deserve personal, compassionate care, and our nurses make that possible.”

Among the UAMS nurses named to the list are 13 from the UAMS College of Nursing.

“The faculty and staff in the College of Nursing work very hard every day preparing the next generation of nurses to provide exceptional care,” said Patricia A. Cowan, Ph.D., RN, dean of the UAMS College of Nursing. “We are pleased to see that work rewarded and to see our nurses recognized for all they do to promote the health of Arkansans.”

The UAMS nurses honored by the Great 100 Nurses Foundation are:

  • Maeghan E. Arnold
  • Brittany L. Aultman
  • Lindsey K. Bourne
  • Nancy E. Casali
  • Kelly B. Castleman
  • Patricia A. Cowan
  • Andrea K. Easom
  • Donna J. Elrod
  • Beverly S. English
  • Shannon A. Finley
  • Jennifer L. Gernat
  • Marisa L. Green
  • Tammy C. Jones
  • Pamela J. LaBorde
  • Leslie R. McCormack
  • Anita J. Mitchell
  • Corey L. Nagel
  • Rosalyn J. Perkins
  • Joyce E. Randof
  • Joanna M. Rankin
  • Leah D. Richardson
  • Janet L. Rooker
  • Rebecca R. Sartini
  • Melissa C. Slater
  • Kimberly M. Stickley
  • Caroline L. Tingquist
  • Stephanie E. Trotter
  • Mary F. Tucker
  • Sherri D. Ward

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss