Dallas Cowboys Owner Jerry Jones to Receive CSA Distinguished Citizen Award June 2


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will accept Arkansas’s Distinguished Citizen Award at the 40th annual Community Service Awards at the Governor’s Mansion on Friday, June 2.

KARK-TV, in association with the Arkansas Department of Human Services Office of Communication and Community Engagement and Office of the Governor, selected Jones as honoree for his long history of giving back to his home state.

Jones, a native of North Little Rock, will be added to the list of 39 Distinguished Citizens that includes Frank Broyles, Dale Bumpers, Daisy Gaston Bates, and Jack Stephens. He will receive the award from Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson.

“Jerry Jones embodies the spirit of the award as a prominent Arkansan who has used his success to better the world around him,” said Community Service Award coordinator Laura Kellerman. “He and the Cowboys organization are best known for the long-term partnership with the Salvation Army, and he’s also been immensely generous with the institutions that matter most to him in Arkansas.”

In 2015, the Jerry & Gene Jones Family Student-Athlete Success Center opened its doors at Jones’ alma mater, the University of Arkansas. The 55,000 square foot facility provides services to help all student athletes graduate. Three years prior, the Jones family contributed more millions of dollars to the capital campaign at Catholic High School for Boys, the Little Rock school from where Jones’ two sons and his son-in-law graduated. Most recently, Jones treated the members of the North Little Rock Police Department and their families to a Cowboys game, covering the cost of their travel and giving them exclusive access as a thank you to their service.

Since 1978, the Community Service Awards have recognized individuals and companies that serve others in extraordinary ways. These special Arkansans are honored for their volunteer work at an annual ceremony televised by KARK-TV. The broadcast highlights each winner’s contributions to the community. Nominees are submitted by the general public, and winners are chosen by a panel which includes members of the DHS Office of Communication and Community Engagement.

A limited number of seats remain for the 2017 Community Service Awards. Those interested in purchasing tickets should email lkellerman@kark.com.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Trending Stories