Twenty-two Democrats voted Tuesday to censure Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) for her criticism of Israel following Hamas’s deadly attack last month.

The resolution, sponsored by Rep. Rich McCormick (R-Ga.), accused Tlaib of “promoting false narratives regarding the October 7, 2023, Hamas attack on Israel and for calling for the destruction of the state of Israel.” It also references her use over the weekend of the controversial phrase “from the river to the sea,” which is considered by many to be antisemitic.

Democratic leadership earlier in the day urged members to vote for a motion to kill the censure resolution, and the party largely stuck together, with only one Democrat voting to advance it.

Many defended Tlaib’s right to make the controversial comments, citing the First Amendment, despite disagreeing with her words.

But on the final vote, 22 of Tlaib’s colleagues opted to reprimand her.

“We are at an exceedingly perilous moment, when emotions and intentions are on a razor’s edge. I believe that Members of Congress should be free to express their opinions, no matter how distasteful they may be. I also believe they have a duty to express the values and priorities of their districts,” Rep. Brad Schneider (D-Ill.) said of his vote to censure Tlaib. 

He added, “I recognize this censure resolution is not a perfect resolution in its language or form, but unfortunately it is the only vehicle available to formally rebuke the dangerous disinformation and aspersions that Rep. Tlaib continues to use and defend. I feel that I have no other recourse but to vote to censure her.”

Here are the Democrats who voted in favor of the censure resolution:

  • Rep. Steve Cohen (Tenn.)
  • Rep. Jim Costa (Calif.)
  • Rep. Angie Craig (Minn.)
  • Rep. Don Davis (N.C.)
  • Rep. Lois Frankel (Fla.)
  • Rep. Jared Golden (Maine)
  • Rep. Dan Goldman (N.Y.)
  • Rep. Josh Gottheimer (N.J.)
  • Rep. Greg Landsman (Ohio)
  • Rep. Susie Lee (Nev.)
  • Rep. Kathy Manning (N.C.)
  • Rep. Jared Moskowitz (Fla.)
  • Rep. Wiley Nickel (N.C.)
  • Rep. Chris Pappas (N.H.)
  • Rep. Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (Wash.)
  • Rep. Pat Ryan (N.Y.)
  • Rep. Brad Schneider (Ill.)
  • Rep. Kim Schrier (Wash.)
  • Rep. Darren Soto (Fla.)
  • Rep. Ritchie Torres (N.Y.)
  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fla.)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (Fla.)

In addition to the Democrats who bucked their party, four Republicans voted against the censure: Reps. Ken Buck (R-Colo.), John Duarte (R-Calif.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.) and Tom McClintock (R-Calif.).

Mychael Schnell contributed.